Google Photos is adding a new feature called ‘Memories,’ a ‘story’-like private archive which lets users look back at old photos and videos from previous years.
In a blog released by Google, it introduced the new Google photos feature Memories where users could see photos and videos from the past years at the top of their gallery.
Google stated: “Starting today, you’ll see photos and videos from previous years at the top of your gallery in a new feature we’re calling Memories. While you might recognize this stories format from social media, these memories are your personal media, privately presented to you so you can sit back and enjoy some of your best moments.”
According to Google, they are using machine learning in order to curate what appears in Memories so users can “reflect on the best ones, where the photos have good quality and all the kids are smiling.”
Now, it’s easier than ever to relive your best moments.
Rolling out today, you can take a stroll down memory lane right from Google Photos with our new Memories feature. See the highlights from this week over the years. https://t.co/FBtRk2DTQe pic.twitter.com/vG1A210vOg
— Google Photos (@googlephotos) September 12, 2019
Users can also hide certain people and time periods for memories they do not want to revisit and there is also an option to turn off the feature entirely.
In the coming months, users will be able to send photos directly to their friends or family within the app. The photos will be added to an ongoing private conversation where users an find the photos they have shared with each other and keep the conversation going.
(Photo source: gadgets.ndtv.com/ Twitter – @googlephotos)