Ad Banner
Press Releases

Globe interconnection with competition extends to Leyte, Southern Leyte, Biliran

Globe Telecom said interconnection of its landline service Globelines with its competition continue to expand as the two parties recently agreed to extend the collaboration to include the provinces of Leyte, Southern Leyte and Biliran.

The interconnection enables Globelines customers in the Leyte, Southern Leyte and Biliran provinces to call customers of other telco providers without additional charges as they no longer have to pay for long distance charges when calling one another. The interconnection, which took effect last September 1, will allow customers to realize substantial savings.

Prior to the interconnection, landline customers of Globelines and other telco providers were charged with long distance rate when making phones to one another. With the interconnection, Globe customers can simply dial the seven-digit telephone number to connect with other telco providers and vice-versa.

“As interconnection reduces the cost of connectivity among our customers, Globe will continue to pursue interconnection in line with our commitment to provide affordable and easily accessible ways of communication, necessary to further enhance economic growth,” Globe General Counsel Atty. Froilan Castelo stressed.

Interconnection among telco providers is in line with provisions for compulsory interconnection of authorized public telecommunications carriers under Republic Act 7925. The law aims to create a universally accessible and fully integrated nationwide telecommunications network to encourage more infrastructure investments from the private sector that would benefit the consumers.

In addition to Leyte, Southern Leyte and Biliran, Globe has existing interconnection agreement with its main competition in Metro Manila, Cavite, Iloilo, Batangas, Cebu, Negros Occidental, Negros Oriental, Bohol, Leyte, Davao City, Pampanga, Bulacan, Zamboanga, Laguna, Quezon, La Union, Nueva Ecija, Benguet, GenSan/South Cotabato, Tarlac, Davao del Norte, Pangasinan, Ilocos Norte, Zambales, Ilocos Sur, Capiz, Cagayan, Nueva Viscaya, Iloilo, Bataan, Isabela and Camarines Norte.